perspective.

photo

Happy Memorial Day to all the people!

This post is comin’ at you not from a beach or a barbecue or even a comfy cozy couch, but from a desk on the 5th floor of my office.  Truth.  In fact, I’ve spent a large part of my “holiday” weekend working.  And I’ll be honest, it really blows.  Because seriously, who wants to work over a long weekend? Not this lady, that’s for true.  I envisioned spending my Memorial Day drinking  summer shandy’s and eating tofurkey corndogs – not setting up meetings and proofreading ads.  Ok, ok so even though it does legit suck that I have to work – I’m aware that I’ve been kind of a wiener about it.  And I’m kind of sick of myself.  It’s like hosting a pity party and I’m the only one that showed up.  Sweet party.

Today though!  Today I had a bit of a reality check.  It’s not that I forgot today is Memorial Day, it’s more that I hadn’t given much thought to it since I’ve been focusing more on (what should be) a vacation day rather than the day itself.  But today as I was hunched over at my desk, sulking about working on a holiday, I remembered that yes.  It is a holiday.  And there’s a reason for that.  Memorial Day isn’t just the official start of summer, it’s not about barbecues and parties and yard games.  What it IS about is paying tribute to the men and women who serve our country.  Today, I got some perspective.  Even though I am holed up at a desk in a eerily quiet building and I have soggy socks from running in the rain and all I had for lunch was a diet coke… the only reason I’m able to be at this desk and have swampy socks and eat and drink whatever I want is because of the values and rights that those men and women have given their lives to preserve.   They’re heroes, and the day is about honoring them.  I know that.  I just needed to remind myself.  So I took a good long look at my reflection in my computer screen and told myself to buck up.  Shape up or ship out.  Go big or go home.  Pee into the wind.  Or something like that…  

It’s not so bad.  It could be worse.  And what I’m doing this weekend is peanuts compared to what some people do every single day.  Anyways, perspective.  I needed that today.  Thank you to everyone who has served our country.  I hope you all get a shandy or a diet coke today.

One thought on “perspective.

Leave a Reply

