more visitors visiting.

So as I mentioned yesterday, visitors.  They keep happening.  Last Thursday, we said goodbye to Casey’s family at approximately 9am.  By 1:45pm, I was meeting my dad and stepmom at the airport for their long weekend visit.  Despite the fact that we hadn’t had time between the waves of company to change the sheets on the beds, and we had no clean towels for showers (my dad actually had to use two tiny hand towels the first day… which couldn’t have been fun) and we were in serious need of another trip the grocery store, we were so pumped to have them here.  It’s pretty much guaranteed that any time Papa Kenny comes to visit, we’ll have a pretty kick-ace time.  He is one of the best vacationers I know – and by that I mean that he truly relaxes, let’s loose and is up for pretty much any adventure.  I love it.  When he visits, it’s kind of like I’m on vacation too.  And it’s all about me, really.

It was also stepmama Denise’s first visit to Portlandia so it was fun to show her the sights and introduce her to this weird place we like to call home.

I played hooky from work on Friday and we drove to Multnomah Falls & Hood River for the day.  It was my one-millionth time to the Falls but my first time to Hood River, and it ended up being one of my very favorite days.

photo (12)[ Multnomah Falls.  I’ve been there so many times and It always fails at disappointing me.  Just plain old sucks at it. ]

Hood River is about an hour outside of Portland and it’s just the very cutest town on the Columbia River… full of wineries, a few breweries and is home to Tofurkey.  What more could a wine-swilling pescatarian ask for?  In fact, I’ve since informed Casey that we’re moving there.  It was that good.photo (26)photo (27)fullsail

On Saturday we made our way out to the coast.  The whole day was full of eating, as these things usually go. We stopped for Blue Star Donuts on our way out of town.  I’m just going to say it… they are so much better than Voodoo Donuts.  I know, I know.  That’s very unpatriotic of me, but you know what?  My belly don’t lie.  Sort of like Shakira’s hips.

photo (17)photo (18)photo (19)

THEN we stopped at Blue Heron cheese company in Tillamook.  Because of cheese.

photo (15)

photo (16)[ I got to feed this guy.  He wasn’t allowed cheese though.  Can you imagine? It’s pretty much not even worth eating, if you ask me. ]

And finally we parked it at Rockaway Beach for a while.  We did a bit o’ napping on the sand…

photo (13)

photo

 [ Did you know that parrotfish eat rocks and poop sand?  It’s true.  Don’t say I never taught you anything. ]

…and then, MOAR EATING.

photo (14)

I refuse to ever get sick of the Old Oregon Smokehouse.  I think that was our fifth visit there, and every time it’s stupid good… but this time they had a special: crab & cheese fondue served in a sourdough breadbowl, which thinking back on is making me salivate onto my keyboard.  I’d eat that stuff slathered on an old sock.

Saturday night was spent drinking whiskey and talking about how cool Portland is.  There may have also been some hammock swings involved (no pictures required).

fam shots

Thanks for the fun times Papa Ken and Denise!  Please come back soon.  We’ll have semi-dirty sheets and plenty of hand towels upon your arrival.  And per usual, Chicago’s greatest hits on vinyl.  And whiskey duh.

Leave a Reply

